International Olympic Committee

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) (French: Comite international olympique, CIO) is an international non-governmental organization based in Lausanne, Switzerland, created by Pierre, Baron de Coubertin, on 23 June 1894 with Demetrios Vikelas as its first president. Today its membership consists of 105 active members and 32 honorary members. The IOC organizes the modern Olympic Games and Youth Olympic Games, held in Summer and Winter, every four years. The first Summer Olympics organized by the International Olympic Committee were held in Athens, Greece, in 1896; the first Winter Olympics were in Chamonix, France, in 1924. Until 1992, both Summer and Winter Olympics were held in the same year. After that year, however, the IOC shifted the Winter Olympics to the even years between Summer Games, to help space the planning of the two events two years apart from one another, and improve the financial balance of the IOC, which receives greater income on Olympic years. The first Summer Youth Olympics were in Singapore in 2010 and the first Winter Youth Olympics were held in Innsbruck in 2012. Lausanne (French pronunciation: ?[lo?zan]) is a city in Romandy, the French-speaking part of Switzerland, and is the capital of the canton of Vaud. The seat of the district of Lausanne, the city is situated on the shores of Lake Geneva (French: Lac Leman).[3] It faces the French town of Evian-les-Bains, with the Jura mountains to its north-west. Lausanne is located 62 km (39 mi) northeast of Geneva. Lausanne has a population (as of December 2011) of 129,383,[1] making it the fifth largest city of the country, with the entire agglomeration area having 336,400 inhabitants.[4] The Metropolitan Area of Lausanne-Geneva is over 1.2 million inhabitants. The headquarters of the International Olympic Committee are located in Lausanne the IOC

fficially recognises the city as the Capitale Olympique[5] as are the headquarters of the Court of Arbitration for Sport. It lies in the middle of a wine region. The city has a 28-station metro system, making it the smallest city in the world to have a rapid transit system. The Youth Olympic Games (YOG) is an international multi-sport event first held in Singapore from 14 to 26 August 2010. The games are held every four years in staggered summer and winter events consistent with the current Olympic Games format.[1] The age limitation of the athletes is 14 to 18.[2] The idea of such an event was introduced by Johann Rosenzopf from Austria in 1998. On 6 July 2007, International Olympic Committee (IOC) members at the 119th IOC session in Guatemala City approved the creation of a youth version of the Olympic Games. The costs of hosting the event will be shared by the IOC and the host city, while the travel costs of athletes and coaches are paid by the IOC. While the 2010 Summer Youth Olympics lasted 13 days, the 2012 Winter Youth Olympics lasted ten days.[3] The IOC will allow a maximum of 3,530 athletes and 481 IOC accredited officials to participate the summer games,[4] while 970 athletes and 580 officials are expected to attend the winter games. The Games will also feature cultural exchange programs and opportunities for participants to meet Olympic athletes. Several other Olympic events for youth, like the European Youth Olympic Festival are held every other year with summer and winter versions, and the Australian Youth Olympic Festival, have proven successful. The Youth Games are modelled after these sporting events.[5] The YOG are a successor to the discontinued World Youth Games. The next Summer Youth Olympics will be held in Nanjing in 2014 while the next Winter Youth Olympics will take place in Lillehammer in 2016.